Lifestyle

My Greece Holiday

Hello everyone! I know it’s been a while. If I’m being honest, I’ve been suffering from writers block recently. I’ve had ideas of posts but kept putting them off because the longer I wasn’t updating, the more I felt people wouldn’t read my blog anymore.

But the truth is I write my blog for me because I just like to write. So today’s post is a little different, it’s on my holiday to Zante in Greece almost 2 weeks ago, which I cannot believe it, it feels like I’ve been home for way longer.

So myself and my two friends went to Zante on the 15th May, which seemed quite odd to some people because it isn’t really “party season” yet but this was actually one of the reasons we chose to go so early. I’ve been abroad several times, as has my other friend, but my best friend had never been abroad, never been on a plane before. I had never gone away with friends before, only family members, same as my other friend. So we decided not to throw ourselves into the deep end our first time going away together. Which suited us really well. We did go down to the strip in Laganas that everyone talks about one night but I’ll get to that later.

I was so nervous about going away without my parents. I know I’m 21 and I should be doing things without my parents anyway, but I’m a nervous flyer and always relied on them to get me through it. But the flights going there and coming home couldn’t have gone better. This was because I couldn’t show any of my anxiety in front of my best friend because she was already really nervous and I wanted her first flying experience to go well and I think that along the way I just started to believe that I was going to be okay. The other thing that helped was Netflix, I downloaded a few films onto my iPad to distract me (and make the time go quicker).

When we arrived at the airport in Zante the heat was so nice. My body doesn’t react the best to really hot weather, because I have ezcema so my skin is very sensitive and I have to lather myself in factor 50. But Greece was nice and manageable, again we did go in May so it wasn’t peak weather yet, as far as I’m aware.

We stayed at the Beach Hotel, which was literally a 5 min drive from the airport. A blessing because airport transfers are the worst when it takes forever and you really just wanna get in the pool but a curse because as you can imagine, it was very noisy. The hotel was very family friendly. I mean, kids music all day and into the night. I can’t hear kids music again for a while. Maybe until I have my own and even that might be too soon. But the hotel had, I think, 5 or 6 pools which was great and it had a wave pool which was awesome.

One of the best things about going away was the trips we went to. On our second day we went on a Shipwreck tour, which is basically a tour of this island with a ship on it that’s been there for years (since 1980) and the story was someone was importing illegal goods and hit some rocks. I read online prior to our visit it’s actually the most famous beach in Greece and the pictures online don’t do it justice. I don’t think mines will either, it’s absolutely stunning. The water is so blue it doesn’t look real.

We also went on a Turtle tour on our 4th day and wow, this was unreal. We were told that we might see turtles, we might not. I didn’t get my hopes up because I didn’t expect to see any. We got lucky because we actually saw a few and they were so amazing, so beautiful and it really was a highlight of the whole holiday.

The pictures aren’t too great but seeing them in person was just amazing. Turtles are one of my favourite animals so seeing them in their natural environment like this was just amazing. This was the day we headed down to Laganas for the night, the only night out we had but trust me, I couldn’t have done it again. I ended up so drunk my friend had to take me back to the hotel and pay for another key so that they could stay out. This is what happens when you drink “the head fucker” cocktail which is basically every shot combined into one drink. Lets just say it was the worst hangover of my life.

On the Saturday, our last trip before going home, we went through to Olympia via a ferry, a very beautiful one I may add. This trip was more on the pricey side but in my opinion, by the end of the day, it was worth it. We went to the historical museum and the archaeological site of where we stood where the temple of Zeus was built. It was pretty cool to say the least. Although of course there isn’t much left of it at all, it was really interesting to see where one of the Seven Wonders of the world was originally built.

It was just so fascinating to see where the first ever Olympic games were held, the archway leading to the stadium. The history behind it was just really interesting and if you ever go to Greece I would recommend you come here.

The rest of the holiday was spent sitting by the pool, drinking cocktails, laughing. It was really fun and I was worried over nothing as always.

Thanks so much for reading this, if you’re still here. I’m trying to write up some more posts whilst I’m feeling more like myself again so hopefully will have another post by Friday.

I hope you liked the pictures, I’m currently sending them off to put in a photo album. And I bought a lovely frame so just need to decide which selfie I like best (joking, of course).

Steph x

Leave a Reply

