Lifestyle · Lists

Stress

Hi everyone, I can’t believe it’s already been 10 days since I uploaded my last blog post. It was my February favourites btw if you haven’t checked it out.

If you follow me on twitter you’ll know I recently lost my laptop charger for a few days, so I couldn’t write and upload any posts. I know you can upload on the app but I prefer to write blogs on the laptop personally. Anyway, I tore my room apart looking for my charger, I had my mum and sister helping and looking for it in every room in the house. I gave up and bought a new one on Amazon, which I paid extra for it to come the next day. It didn’t work, I was sent the wrong one and still couldn’t use my laptop. To cut a long story short, my Dad found my charger, I returned the one Amazon sent just yesterday.

I still couldn’t upload any posts because I was busy writing an essay which was actually due tonight, at midnight. I’m able to write this now because after days of writing and reading articles and books on very gritty work (it was an essay on crime and I did mines on female serial killers) I finally submitted my essay. Any fellow students reading this will understand the relief I feel right now.

The reason I’m writing this post is to inform anyone who reads my blog that I am indeed still alive and also to share my ways to destress tips.

  1. Turn off your mobile phone. I really struggle with this, I won’t lie especially at night when I’m trying to switch off my brain. I usually put my phone on “do not disturb” which to be fair works just as well as actually turning it off. When I do manage to do this I feel so much more relaxed and peaceful. As much fun as it is to constantly scroll on facebook, twitter, instagram, snapchat, it’s so nice to just completely shut yourself off to social media and have some quiet time. Even if it’s just for a little while every day, you’ll feel a lot better.
  2. Read a book. This is quite similar to the first tip because you do shut your mind off to the “outside”world when you lose yourself in a book. However I’m including this because sometimes it’s hard to shut down completely and be silent so reading a book is really useful.
  3. Tidy your room. I am a firm believer that when my room is tidy and cosy and I have a few candles lit, I feel more at peace. I feel way more relaxed than when my room is a mess, whats the quote? A tidy room is a tidy mind? Not sure if that’s accurate but it’s something along those lines and I couldn’t agree more.
  4. Exercise. This really works for me personally and I actually did it this week when I was stressing about my essay. I find that going for a walk or doing exercise at home if you don’t go to a gym (I don’t) really helps clear your head for a while and lets you think of other things.
  5. Take a shower/bath. I am personally not a fan of baths I much prefer showers but either way it’s a great way to just relax for a little while, listen to some music or catch up on a tv show and light some candles if you’re in a bath (but please be careful).

 

 

I hope this post was helpful to anyone who’s feeling a bit stressed right with work or life in general, we all have those days. It’s so important to take care of yourself, to remain positive and to allow yourself those moments of relaxation every day. It keeps you happy and it keeps your mind happy. Much love,

Steph x

Leave a Reply

