Lifestyle

My Diet/Fitness Tips

Before you read this post it’s really important to remember that everyone diets and exercises differently because our bodies are different. What works for you might not work for me and vice versa. It’s also important to remember that you should always take care when on a diet or exercising and don’t push your body too far. Know your limits.

I decided to write this post because I felt it was time to write about something a bit more personal. I’ve been writing more beauty related posts lately, which I love but I’ve wanted to write about myself a little bit because other than a favourites tag I haven’t really said too much about me.

For the past few weeks I’ve been on a diet and been exercising a couple times a week. I know myself that I should be exercising more but as I’m unfit I’ve been taking it slow-ish. Last week and this week I did a 4 mile walk, which is more than I’ve walked in quite a long time. As for diets I’ve been coping quite well if I’m honest although I’ve definitely had moments where all I’ve wanted was a Chinese and fizzy juice. So I thought I’d share some helpful (well ones that I hope are helpful) tips that I’ve been using. I should also remind you that I am in no way an expert on fitness or diets and that these tips aren’t exactly groundbreaking but I thought I’d share them anyway because you never know, someone might actually find them useful.

So starting with my diet, I’ve been keeping a log on what I eat every day for the past three weeks. I decided to do this because it’s a good idea to keep track of your food intake and because personally I find it very useful to write it all down on a piece of paper and see at a glance that I’ve had a good day. It helps me feel a bit better and accomplished. I also do this because when I feel like I’m struggling a bit I’ll think to myself “if I eat this I’ll have to write it down because I want to be 100% honest and will I regret it when I read it back tomorrow?” Most of the time the answer is yes. Now I’m not saying I haven’t awarded myself a little treat here and there, which I think is a tip itself. I think it’s helpful to allow yourself a little extra something so long as you’re not overdoing it or undermining the work you’ve already done. For me this makes it easier to keep going. If I was strict on myself 24/7 I would feel disheartened and fed up. I know that some people may think this is silly or wrong but personally this works for me and has done so far.

I’ve also cut out fizzy juice completely. If you don’t know this about me I’m from Scotland so I’m a big lover of Irn Bru. I haven’t had Irn Bru in over three weeks. Not gonna lie that does make me feel good. Instead I’ve been drinking diluted juice (peach, strawberry and kiwi and orange and pineapple are my faves) and flavoured water. Not only does water make you feel fuller and therefore you’re less likely to snack, it’s just good for you.

 

Fruit. Lots and lots of fruit. This is an example of that not so groundbreaking advice I pre warned you about. I like to keep fruit bags in the fridge because they’re very useful for snacks and for trying to get your 5 a day. I just get the bags from Asda or somewhere similar and I usually get apple or apple and grape. What I’ve started doing in the mornings is having peanut butter with my apples. I didn’t think I was a fan of peanut butter and being honest I don’t really like it on it’s own but when I have it with apple, it’s delicious. I feel I’m a bit late to the party to this one because I’ve seen or read about people having this for their breakfast or snacks a lot but have only recently tried it out for myself and now I think I’ve been missing out. It fills you up and it tastes good, which is just the best combination.

One of the things I’ve found most helpful is having my dinner at a later time. I normally have dinner between 6-7pm and this has made such a big difference to me because I no longer snack at night. On the occasions that I do I’ll have a fruit bag or a yoghurt and it does the job. I used to have dinner as early as 4:30pm and it meant by the time it was 8pm I was hungry and would snack on sweets. So I would definitely recommend having dinner later. I’ve also found it very beneficial to have breakfast every day. I have quite early classes at University so sometimes I’ll prepare something the night before or grab something on the way. One of the days I finished at 11am and skipped breakfast that morning but there’s a fuel juice bar near my campus so I grabbed one of those as a late breakfast/almost brunch.

In terms of exercise, as I’ve already mentioned I am trying to incorporate more of this into my day. So far I’ve been going on walks with my older cousin which I find quite enjoyable despite the leg pain the next day but hey, that just means it’s working, right? The other thing I’ve been doing is Charlotte Crosby’s belly blitz which I believe I saw on her Snapchat is now the best selling exercise DVD of all time. Which is pretty damn impressive. Other little things I’ve been doing is getting off the bus a few stops earlier so I have further to walk.

That’s really all the advice I have for now. Please let me know if you liked this more personal style post and if you’d like to see more. Please feel free to leave a comment on any tips you think I’d find useful or anyone else would. Or tweet me my username is @blogitall1. Thanks so much for reading.

Steph x

2 thoughts on “My Diet/Fitness Tips

Leave a Reply

