Lists

Recommended Book List

I’ve always been a massive book lover ever since I was young, I remember having a shelf full of the Disney books you used to get and I re-read them all the time. My gran used to work in a library (before she retired) and I’d sit in the children section for hours reading, checking out books, talking about books. So for this post I’ve compiled a list of 5 books I think deserve to be read. I could write more than 5 but I was worried people would stop reading this post after 5 so I’ve kept it concise. You may notice there’s only 4 books in the photo, Gone Girl is on my kindle I don’t have a physical book copy.

  1. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne. I couldn’t list every Harry Potter book so instead I’ve listed the newest one. I won’t lie, I haven’t actually finished this book (I’m on Act 3, Scene 15 if anyone is wondering) but I just had to include it because it really has been fantastic so far. I’ve laughed, I’ve shed a few tears, it’s been very emotional. If you don’t know this book (firstly, why?!), this is the story of Harry Potter 18 years after the last book was published. So the gang have grown up, their kids are at Hogwarts, they’re getting sorted into houses. Emotional, I swear.
  2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I saw the film before I read this book but honestly, even when you know the plot twist the book is still so intense. So this book is about a husband who is accused of his wife’s disappearance and possibly murder. This was enough to interest me, I remember seeing the trailer and I just had to see it, but the book itself is so much better. I always feel this way, I think books are much better than their films even though I’m a massive film geek. If you’ve saw the film, I’d still suggest reading this book and if you haven’t saw the film, then you should definitely read it.
  3. Remember me? by Sophie Kinsella. Not to be confused with the Robert Pattinson 9/11 film, people tend to think that’s what it is when I tell them the title. I could write a blog post dedicated to Sophie Kinsella. I’ve read most of her books, she’s my absolute favourite author. This book is about a woman who is involved in a car accident and when she wakes up in hospital, it’s been a few years and she has no memory of the night after the accident. She wakes up to a new life, new friends, new man, it’s crazy. I’ve re-read this at least 3 times, no joke, it’s amazing every time.
  4. The Fault in our Stars by John Green. Boy meets girl. Girl has cancer. Girl falls in love. Tears everywhere, literally. I’m sure by now everyone and their mum knows how this story ends, either by reading the book or watching the film. The film is great, I cried a lot. The book? I cried so much more. John Green is very, very skilled at making people bawl their eyes out and wishing they never read his book which is a trait I quite admire.
  5. The Life before her Eyes by Laura Kasischke. I discovered this book years ago before I knew it was actually a film starring Evan Rachel Wood and Uma Thurman. It’s one of those gems you find and you’re immediately so damn happy because ugh, it’s so good. It’s hard to describe what the book, or the film, is about without giving away the twist but basically, it follows this girl Diana and her best friend Maureen who are faced with an impossible decision when a fellow classmate open fires in their school. I know that’s really vague, just read it. Trust me.Or watch the film, if books aren’t your thing, which probably meant you weren’t a fan of this post.
2 thoughts on “Recommended Book List

Leave a Reply

